Summer Movie Review: G.I. Joe: Rise of the Cobra

Knowing is half the battle!

Knowing is half the battle!

Last night, in an last ditch effort to stretch the waning summer out, I took my girls to see G.I. Joe.  Now let me start by saying that I was expecting nothing  from this movie and in the long run i actually got something out of it. 

First lets talk about the characters Duke, played by Channing Tatum, of many a dance movie fame.  Ripcord, played by the almost forgotten Marlon Wayans.  And rounding out the really important characters, our boy D-Quaid as General Hawk.  Duke was you’re typical army bad ass except Tatum is far from a bad ass.  He suffers from the Marky Mark syndrome where he usually comes of as a “nice guy” and not a “kick but take names later” type of guy.  So it was really difficult for me to see this guy as the quintessential Joe.  I mean if you were really a bad ass wouldn’t you just kill people that were trying to kill you, but no, our man Duke does the opposite and actually saves said persons.  Next Marlon Wayans as Ripcord, who surprisingly did a good job as the comic relief.  I mean I know what you’re thinking, ‘anybody can be comic relief’, but Mr. Wayans is truly that actor, and he didn’t do too bad as a tough guy, or about as tough as he could be.  Minus the sexual tension between him and one of his fellow Joe’s (Scarlett) his character was predictable yet refreshing at the same time.  Finally my boy D-Quaid as General Hawk.  I do wonder how much he got for this movie because he did absolutely nothing.  I mean at one point he was actually sitting in a wheelchair!!!  WTF!!!  Although I have nothing but love for the Quaidster, he didn’t do anything to help his legend grow in this one.

Now onto the movie itself.  First and foremost this movie is better than Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, and slightly worse than X-Men Origins: Wolverine, so that give you some idea of what to expect.  This movie has the same summer movie cliches that all blockbusters now suffer from, accelerated plot, unnecessary sexual tension, wooden acting, bad humor, and absurdly over the top production.  The one thing that really got me was that, if the Joes were supposed to be so advanced and cutting edge why did it take newrecruits Duke and Ripcord one montage scene to be “the best they can be”, like I said this movie had summer blockbuster written all over it and in this instance it was blatantly obvious. 

This movie does not disappointing the way of action at all.  I mean there is rarely a scene where someone is not getting shot, or something isn’t blowing up.  Now this is a double edged sword because on the one hand you see some really cool CGI, and then you realize that pretty much all of the movie is CGI and its hard to get over at some point.  There is one scene that is so over the top as far as destruction it was hard to swallow as a viewer.  Like I said this movie has some great action scenes(maybe one too many), poor to decent acting, cheesy humor, and the legendary D-Quaid, and can deliver some excitement and fun, but ultimately its just another summer money making machine.

G.I. Joe: Rise of the Cobra= C+

~ by asmithjazz on August 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
