Audio torture test: Lady Gaga vs. Katy Perry

gaga vs. perryThe question is simple: If forced to listen, for an entire day, to one of these two popular, yet insufferable, artists, which poison would you choose?

Lady Gaga has ridden her techno-lite dance jams and painfully contrived “quirky” sense of style to to the top of the charts. Can she sing? Not really. Dance? Servicable. 

But she damn sure knows how to draw attention to herself, and her album has gone multi-platinum thanks to the propulsive, if lightweight, songs “Just Dance” and “Poker Face.”

Meanwhile, Perry followed a similar path, capitalizing on her glamour girl, Zooey Deschanel-esque looks and cutesy-poo songwriting (while ditching her Christian rock roots) to become a global success and cheesecake-pic staple.

Her songs, “I Kissed A Girl” and “Hot N Cold,” have been pretty much inescapable over the past 18 months, which is unfortunate, because they suck.

My wife and I debated about this one for a while: she took Perry, claiming that she’d get a bit more variety in the music. I’m going with Lady Gaga.

No, I don’t really like her personality, but I do have to admit that her songs are somewhat catchy. I’d bet that hardcore clubheads don’t think so, but since the thought of being surrounded by glowsticks and flashing neon makes me feel ill, I can deal with a light version of the scene.

Who are you going with? Post your answer in the comments. And to the eventual Gaga and Perry fans that find their way here, yes, I suck. Yes, I have no taste. Yes, I’m a hater. So you don’t have to tell me again.

~ by Elliott on July 21, 2009.

2 Responses to “Audio torture test: Lady Gaga vs. Katy Perry”

  1. I had never really listened to either of these two before reading this post. But now thanks to you, I will have both of them playing in my head for the next 5 days. What this some some sort of devious mind trap intended to make me go insane?

  2. Lady Gaga. Interestingly enough, both artists have had a remix done by LMFAO that is better than the original. Hot N Cold LMFAO remix for Katy Perry, and Love Game LMFAO remix by Lady Gaga.

    Working on this game of mine has given me a new appreciation for pop music…I used to be a huge hater, but I think I need to mellow out in my old age.

    Hot N Cold – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfT8Tr2z5C4
    Love Game – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UDOKplfDVi8

Leave a Reply

 
