Yes, I like this song. Yes, it’s embarrassing.

311Look, I have multiple CDs by the Spice Girls and Britney Spears, so it takes a lot to admit that I’m embarrassed by liking a particular song. And maybe “embarrassed” is too strong a word – it’s more like this song goes completely against my musical taste.

Yet every time “Amber” by 311 pops up on the ol’ iPod, I find myself thinking, “Damn, I love this song!” But I own no 311 albums, would not like to own any 311 albums, and generally don’t have any interest in hearing anything else from them. I vaguely remember my friend Rob liking them in college, and that’s about it.

I don’t even know what kind of genre 311 falls into – I thought they were a faux hip-hop group, but apparently they do all kinds of stuff, including Jack Johnson-esque surfer songs.

And about the song; if you listen to the lyrics, they are embarrasingly pedestrian – an unbelievable array of feel-good cliches strung together with a chorus that claims “Amber is the color of your energy.” I don’t know what the hell that means, but I’ll be damned if I don’t find myself singing along with this nonsense every time I hear it.

I’m not even sure how I came to like this song, other than I must have been stumbling along the cable wasteland and stopped at MTV (this was back in 2001, when they were actually still playing videos). I just think the mellow vibe of the song caught my attention, although I have no predilections toward reggae, surfing or tunes about positive energy. That said, it’s a catchy little ditty, and I’ll play it proudly – just as long as no one else is around.

What’s your iPod embarrassment?

~ by Elliott on June 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “Yes, I like this song. Yes, it’s embarrassing.”

  1. I am thinking long and hard about this and i’m not sure i have any. I love the beach boys, but am not mbarrassed by it. Well you know. I do like that Lady Gaga song “just Dance” It just sounds like a fun night. She is kinda crazy though. I want to party with her.

  2. Does the Little Mermaid song from my 3-year old’s Princess Collection CD count? “Look at this stuff…Isn’t it neat?…”

  3. I love Afternoon Delight…And Disco Lady bythte late great Johnny Taylor (whose clothes were changed every day he lay in repose)

Leave a Reply

 
